top of page
  • yson2191

Grilled Chicken Sandwich


The other day I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich in a restaurant via its drive-through. The clerk misunderstood me due to my accent and gave me three (regular) chicken sandwiches and charged for three instead of one. I corrected the miscommunication, was refunded for two sandwiches, and finally had a grilled chicken sandwich instead of a regular chicken sandwich.


Several days later, I craved a grilled chicken sandwich again when I was taking a shower in a gym. I decided to have a grilled chicken sandwich for lunch. Then the obsessive thoughts came up, as follows:


What if they misunderstand me again? Do I need to pronounce “a” [ā] instead of “a” [ə] to prevent miscommunication? What if they misunderstand “a” [ā] as eight? Do I need to use “one” instead of “a”? Does the use of “one” make my English sound awkward? Do I need to ask for a receipt to avoid miscommunication? What if they do not understand my pronunciation of receipt? . . .


I was doomed. As I had already spent too much energy on thinking about the what-if questions and possible answers to them, I lost my appetite. Being trapped in a loop of what-if questions wasn’t what I expected. I just wanted a juicy grilled chicken sandwich.

When I almost gave up a grilled chicken sandwich for lunch, I thought about what I was going to do after lunch; it was the practice of writing. I would write for a book that I was working on. The thought that there existed an occupation that I could engage myself with by paying my full attention relieved my anxiety.


More specifically, I knew that I would concentrate on the practice of writing better after being teased by my OCD bully. I learned from my previous experiences that my OCD motivated me to work harder on my occupation of writing as I desperately wanted to forget about my OCD thoughts.


In this way, the successful experience of forgetting about OCD thoughts with the occupational engagement with the practice of writing served as a “mental shelter” where I could feel safer. Even though I couldn’t engage with the practice of writing at the time in the gym, thinking about my occupational engagement itself relieved my anxiety about the potential miscommunication at the restaurant.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page